A while ago I was listening to the song “Lose My Soul” by TobyMac. At the end of the song there’s a few sentences that TobyMac says, and so I googled it and found this:

“Lord, forgive us when we get consumed by the things of this world, that fight for our love, and our passion. As our eyes are open wide and on you, grant us the privilege of your world view. And may your kingdom be what wakes us up, and lays us down.”

Lose My Soul (TobyMac)

I thought, That’s what we need to pray. Isn’t it so true? We get caught up in being better than everyone else when God tells us to be humble and a servant. We try to impress people when we should be helping others. We focus on worldly things when God’s kingdom is greater than anything we can imagine.

Isn’t it time to stop that? What if we started asking for forgiveness every time we get caught up in our lives and things that won’t last? That quote is my prayer, and I hope it is yours too.

3 thoughts on “Consumed

  1. Thank you! Yes that will be my prayer also. Your post reminded me of another song called “Lay Me Down” by Chris Tomlin. We do belong to the Lord and we should always remember that and live our lives with that in mind. 🙂

    Like

  2. Danaye,

    This blog is really fantastic and I love seeing your perspective and insights. Your writing is highly interesting /relatable and just awesome…(love that song) and I am thrilled that you’re doing this.

    Keep it up,
    -Jenna

    Like

What do you think?

