I was reading a pep talk from NaNoWriMo when it happened. A thought, small and daring, exploded in my brain. I gasped. It wasn’t even a nice, quiet gasp–I literally sucked in my breath as loudly as I could, squashing my face into my hands with utter shock. I was almost moaning, trying to breathe and wondering if I should laugh or cry.

I knew it. I knew who that mysterious person was in my story…the character’s father.

No. It couldn’t be. I couldn’t make family connections. It would be too difficult, too daring, too…awesome.

But isn’t that what they all do? I ask myself. Throw in a family member where you’d least expect it, just to shock the readers?

No, I can’t do that.

But the idea was already in me, and it was already forming into a beautiful creature. It was too late to change what I had created, and now it would either break me or shape me into the best writer in the world. (Or somewhere in between.)

Please tell me I’m not alone.

One thought on “Writing Gasp

What do you think?

