Mark insists I’m obsessed.

Actually, all my cousins think I’m some weird, introverted nerd. The truth? I’m not your typical fifteen year old guy. While “nerd” wouldn’t be the word I would use, I prefer to learn about planets and parallel universes than sports and girls.

And about Mark’s comment: I’m not obsessed; I’m simply fascinated by the mystery of Earth. It’s a strange yet familiar planet, full of wonder and the unknown. The more I discover, the more I want to know. Earth is so opposite to Terra, and that’s what scares me. I’m captured by a planet that is everything that Terra is not–I want the opposite of my life.

Oblivion appeals to me, and to have that on Earth awes me. The closer I get to my deathday, the more obsessed I become with this mirrored planet–the more I want to have it. Perhaps it’s mixed with jealousy and desperate hope. The years continue to pass, so I continue to search for some chance at finding Earth.

I suppose it’s the contrast to Terra that traps me in the hope of Earth. If there was any way for me to escape this knowledge of death, I would take it. That’s what people don’t understand. I’m not obsessed with Earth. I’m obsessed with ignorance.

Ignorance is bliss.

* * *

How do you like it? Is it captivating? It’s the beginning of the novel I’m writing, set in the year 2050. I’ll try to post more pieces as I continue it. Please leave a comment if you have any suggestions or questions. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Silas Trey: Terra, 2050

What do you think?

