My sister Junia said My Wish (by Rascal Flatts) is one of those songs you had to play with the volume turned up loud, and I agree. You can’t play it quietly or have it as background music to your homework because it is rich with meaning and sincerity. It speaks a story, the story we all reach now and again in our lives—leaving the familiar, saying goodbye, a journey of change and life. I feel this especially as graduation creeps up on me and I’ll soon begin my own adventure, this feeling of apprehension and vulnerability and anticipation. But in the centre of this song is someone who also wants the best for you, who is excited for your new journey and is willing to let you take your own, delicate steps toward the future.

        I like this song because it isn’t a utopian idea but it still is full of optimism and joy. The friend acknowledges that mistakes will be made and decisions will be difficult, but he hopes “you know somebody loves you”, whether that be himself or a significant other or a family member. He is a support. There is a bittersweet taste to the lyrics because throughout this journey, you’re going to leave people and places behind—it’s a journey, after all. It sells the idea of a full, satisfied life packed with adventure and emotions and memories, all wrapped up in one person’s desire for their friend. This friend’s wish in the song is something I want in all my friendships and what I hope to give to those around me.

* * *

This is the last of the 7 posts from a school Psychology assignment in which I had to choose one song for each category (Friendship, Joy, Comfort, Knowledge, Religion, and Love) and write a reflection. Enjoy!

What do you think?

