When I’m in a serious, contemplative mood, this is perhaps my favourite song. I grew up listening to it, which makes me love it even more because of its childhood connections, but it wasn’t until I rediscovered it a few years ago and completely immersed myself in the music that I truly fell in love with it. It’s one of those songs that if I ever sat down to write a song with this theme (and given amazing talent), this would be exactly it. For many songs, I enjoy most of the song. Sometimes the second verse isn’t as good or the bridge doesn’t meet my expectations. But for this song, I have to stop whatever I’m doing to listen to it because I can’t get distracted—if I miss even one line, I want to back up and hear it again.

The instruments and voice are nice, not spectacular, but the lyrics are everything in this song. I’ve grown up in church and I know “how” to be a Christian. I’ve made promises to him that I’ve broken; I’ve volunteered in kid’s church and told them of God’s power; I’ve prayed meaningless, insincere prayers to the God of the universe—I’ve done all these things! I remember one time, during a Hearing God session, I sat down in a kid’s church room and tried to hear God’s voice, but instead, I talked and talked about how I wanted to hear him and I barely listened. I think I know God, but I don’t. This song opened my eyes because for once I wondered, “What if I actually met a disguised Jesus on the streets? Would I recognize him?” You see, I’m familiar with Christianity. God, on the other hand, blows me away when I catch “a glimpse of who [he] might be.” God is sacred and beautiful and full of fire. His wounds heal me. His angels praise him. His creation exclaims him. This song gives me insignificance, but I’m okay with that. It reminds me that I am nothing without God, that he is bigger and more majestic than I can comprehend. What do I know of holy? Nothing. Maybe that’s fine. I’m learning.

 

* * *

These 7 posts are from a school Psychology assignment in which I had to choose one song for each category (Friendship, Joy, Comfort, Knowledge, Religion, and Love) and write a reflection. Enjoy!

What do you think?

